Darrel and Gail Voth

Directors of Mobilization, Beautiful Feet Missionary Training and Sending, Choctaw, Oklahoma

meditation and service

Leave a comment

I’m conflicted.
I love space, quiet, meditation. It’s a wonderful thing to immerse in God’s love. But I’m very aware that this can never become a selfish pursuit. I’m also aware of the voices within me during these quiet spaces of contemplation which say I’m not doing anything.

I also hear the voice which says resting in the Father’s love is enough. And so it is for that time.

Even so, Jesus has called me to work alongside Him. I cannot follow the path of Christ in the lotus position. It requires ready feet and open arms, a sharp mind and quiet heart.

These are things gained in meditation, but they are not meant for meditation. They are for active, loving service.

Today as I end my time with the monks, I feel that I’ve begun to know the entrance at least to contemplative space. And so I’m asking the Spirit within me
– to teach me to listen, in quiet or in chaos, so I may hear His leading
– for peace deep within myself and within my family
– for a clear mind
– a ready heart
– to know deeply the security of my place in the communal love with Father, Son and Spirit

Deo gratias.

Author: darrelvoth

Just a boy with some bread and a few fish waiting to see what Jesus is going to do next.

Leave a Reply

